ACC Board

The ACC Board governs how we function. It delegates day-to-day leadership and management to the Chief Executive.  

The Board has up to eight non-executive members, each appointed by the Minister for three years. The Minister can re-appoint a Board member, or shorten their term.

Chair – Dame Paula Rebstock

Dame Paula was appointed as Chair in September 2012. She's an Auckland-based economist and company director, who was made a Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2015.

She has a BSc (Bachelor of Science, Economics) from the University of Oregon, and a Diploma and a Master of Science Degree (Economics) from the London School of Economics.

Dame Paula is Chair of the:

  • ACC Board and the ACC Governance and Remuneration Committee
  • Vulnerable Children’s Board
  • Insurance and Financial Services Ombudsman Commission
  • Finance, Risk and Assurance Committee of the Auckland District Health Board. 

And also Deputy Chair of KiwiRail.

She's a member of the:

  • ACC Board Investment Committee
  • Auckland District Health Board Human Resource Committee
  • University of Auckland Business School Advisory Board
  • Synergia Limited advisory board
  • Auckland Transport Board
  • New Zealand Defence Force Governance Board.

Dame Paula is a lead reviewer for the Performance Improvement Framework for the State Services Commission. She chaired the Child Youth and Family Modernisation Review 2015. 

Deputy Chair – Trevor Janes

Trevor was appointed Deputy Chair in September 2012. He's a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors, and a fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Financial Professionals and Chartered Accountants of Australia and New Zealand.

Trevor's an experienced director with a background in investment banking and financial analysis.

He's Chairman of the:

  • ACC Board Investment Committee
  • KiwiRail Holdings Ltd and New Zealand Railways Corporation
  • Abano Healthcare and Certus Solutions.

He's also a member of the:

  • ACC Board Governance and Remuneration Committee
  • New Zealand Markets Disciplinary Tribunal
  • Postal Network Access Committee
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade International Development Commercial Advisory Panel
  • Chartered Financial Analysts Society.

Trevor was an ACC Board Member from 1999 to 2002, and served as a specialist advisor to the ACC Board Investment Committee 2003 to 2011.

Anita Mazzoleni

Nō Tāmaki-Makaurau ia. Ko Venetian Navy te waka, ko Adriatic rāua ko Waitematā ngā moana, ko Rangitoto te maunga. Ko Ngāti Pākeha te iwi.

Anita was appointed to the Board in July 2014. She has a Bachelor of Commerce (BCom), Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia and New Zealand (FCA).

She's an independent corporate finance adviser and company director, with a background in infrastructure projects.

Anita is:

  • the Chair of the ACC Board Risk Assurance and Audit Committee
  • the Chair of the Ngā Maunga Whakahii o Kaipara Commercial Developments Ltd
  • a Director on the Board of the New Zealand Royal College of General Practitioners.  

Her previous roles include:

  • Commissioner on the Commerce Commission from 2005 to 2014 
  • Commercial adviser to the Corrections Department’s Public-Private Partnership (PPP) projects
  • General Counsel of Contact Energy
  • Director of Civil Aviation Authority, the Aviation Security Service
  • Deloitte Corporate Finance
  • Industrial Research Ltd
  • Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei.

Kristy McDonald ONZM QC

Kristy was appointed to the Board in September 2012. She's a barrister and litigation lawyer with extensive experience in criminal, health, public and constitutional, and administrative law.

Kristy is a:

  • member of the ACC Board Risk Assurance & Audit Committee
  • member of the ACC Board Governance and Remuneration Committee
  • Crown Counsel at the Crown Law Office
  • Queen's Counsel
  • LEADR qualified mediator.

She's chaired a number of statutory boards including:

  • Real Estate Agents Authority
  • Judicial Control Authority for Racing
  • Kiwifruit New Zealand – a primary industry regulator
  • Wairarapa Building Society and the Electoral Commission – Deputy Chair.

James Miller

James was appointed to the Board in March 2013. He's an experienced company director. James holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Otago University, and is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program, Harvard Business School (USA). He brings 15 years’ experience in capital markets to the Board.

James chairs: 

  • the ACC Board Shaping our Future Committee
  • NZX.

He's Director of:

  • Mercury Energy
  • Auckland International Airport
  • St Cuthbert’s College.

James is also a:

  • Fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals New Zealand Inc.
  • Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of New Zealand
  • Certified Securities Analyst Professional
  • Accredited Director of the Institute of Directors in NZ Inc.
  • qualified chartered accountant.

Before this, he was:

  • Director of Craigs Investment Partners in Auckland
  • Head of Equities at ABN AMRO
  • Head of Research at ABN AMRO
  • Research Analyst at Barclays de Zoete Wedde (BZW).

David May

David was appointed to the ACC Board in 2018. An actuary by training, David has enjoyed a long career in the insurance superannuation and investment industries.

He has extensive experience as a Director and CEO in the public and private sector and is the Director of Save the Children NZ.

His previous roles include:

  • Chair of Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation Fund
  • Deputy Chair Government Superannuation Fund
  • Director Southern Cross Hospitals and Sothern Cross Health Insurance
  • Director Sovereign Insurance
  • CEO Colonial NZ
  • Acting CEO ACC.

Leona Murphy

Leona was appointed to the Board in June 2017. She has a strong background in large scale transformation, strategy, business line management, digital IT, and insurance claims management.

She has more than 24 years of experience in the insurance and risk industry. She's held Senior Executive roles for listed insurers for more than 10 years.

Leona earned her Bachelor of Commerce degree in Accounting and Law from Griffith University. She was also recognised as one of Australia's 100 Women of Influence for 2015 in the Global category. 

Leona is:

  • a Non Executive Director at:
    • ACC
    • Liberty Financial Pty Ltd
  • an Independent Director at Stone & Chalk
  • Chair of the Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital Foundation.

Before this, she was:

  • Chief Strategy Officer and Chief Transformation Officer at Insurance Australia Group (IAG)
  • Co Chair of the Board for the United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP) Finance Initiative for the Principles for Sustainable Insurance (PSI)
  • a member of the Business Advisory Council for World Vision Australia
  • a Director of the Australia Insurance Association.
Last published: 12 December 2018