Our contact centre will be closed on 25 and 26 Dec 2019 and 1 and 2 Jan 2020. For more holiday hours, go to Contact us 
For ACC payments over the holiday period, go to Getting paid if you can’t work

ACC Board

The ACC Board governs how we function. It delegates day-to-day leadership and management to the Chief Executive.  

The Board has up to eight non-executive members, each appointed by the Minister for three years. The Minister can re-appoint a Board member, or shorten their term.

Chair – Dame Paula Rebstock

Member of the ACC Board Investment Committee (BIC) and Governance and Remuneration Committee (GRC)

Dame Paula was appointed as Chair in September 2012. She's an Auckland-based economist and company director, who was made a Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2015.

She has a BSc (Bachelor of Science, Economics) from the University of Oregon, and a Diploma and a Master of Science Degree (Economics) from the London School of Economics.

Dame Paula is Chair of the:

  • ACC Board
  • NZ Police Women’s Advisory Network
  • Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Maia
  • NZ Defence Governance Board
  • Tonkin and Taylor Finance
  • Auckland District Health Board's Finance, Risk and Assurance Committee 

She's a member of the:

  • Auckland District Health Board's Human Resource Committee
  • Synergia Limited advisory board
  • Auckland Transport Board
  • New Zealand Defence Force Governance Board.

Dame Paula is a lead reviewer for the Performance Improvement Framework for the State Services Commission.

Temporary Deputy Chair – James Miller

Chair of ACC Board Investment Committee (BIC) and Member of the ACC Board Governance and Remuneration Committee (GRC)

James was appointed to the Board in March 2013. He's an experienced company director. James holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Otago University, and is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program, Harvard Business School (USA). He brings 15 years’ experience in capital markets to the Board.

James chairs: 

  • NZX.

He's Director of:

  • Mercury Energy
  • Auckland International Airport
  • St Cuthbert’s College.

James is also a:

  • Fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals New Zealand Inc.
  • Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of New Zealand
  • Certified Securities Analyst Professional
  • Accredited Director of the Institute of Directors in NZ Inc.
  • qualified chartered accountant.

Before this, he was:

  • Director of Craigs Investment Partners in Auckland
  • Head of Equities at ABN AMRO
  • Head of Research at ABN AMRO
  • Research Analyst at Barclays de Zoete Wedde (BZW).

Dr Tracey Batten

Member of the ACC Board Governance and Remuneration Committee (GRC)

Dr Tracey Batten was appointed a Member of the ACC Board in February 2019. She is qualified doctor, which she obtained at the University of Melbourne. She later acquired a Masters in Health Administration from the University of New South Wales and a Master of Business Administration from Harvard University.

She is:

  • a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • a member of the New Zealand Institute of Directors
  • a director of Medibank Private Limited (Australia)
  • a director of Abano Healthcare Group Limited
  • on the Board of NIWA.

Her previous roles include:

  • Chief Executive of Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust (UK)
  • Chief Executive of St Vincent’s Health, the largest charitable hospital group in Australia.

Tracey has worked closely with businesses in the hospital, aged care and medical research sectors in the UK and Australia.

John Brabazon

Member of the ACC Board Investment Committee (BIC)

John was appointed to the ACC Board in February 2019. He has a Bachelor of Commerce and is an Accredited Fellow of the Institute of Directors of New Zealand and a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia. John is also an Associate Chartered Accountant of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.

John’s background includes investment banking at Banque Indosuez, Brierley Investments and Bancorp. He has had involvement in all aspects of mergers, acquisitions, capital raisings and due diligence over a broad range of industries, leading due diligence assignments in New Zealand and internationally for over 25 years.

John is:

  • an Executive Director of Clavell Capital merchant bankers
  • a Director of Dairy Farms NZ Ltd.

His previous directorship roles include:

  • Auckland International Airport
  • Hilton Haulage
  • Brierley Properties Ltd
  • Apparel Holdings Ltd
  • Downer Group
  • Wilson Neill Ltd
  • Manukau City Investments.

David May

Member of the ACC Board Risk Assurance and Audit Committee (RAAC) and Investment Committee (BIC)

David was appointed to the ACC Board in 2018. An actuary by training, David has enjoyed a long career in the insurance superannuation and investment industries.

He has extensive experience as a Director and CEO in the public and private sector and is the Director of Save the Children NZ.

He is a:

  • Director of Save the Children NZ.

His previous roles include:

  • Chair of Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation Fund
  • Deputy Chair Government Superannuation Fund
  • Director Southern Cross Hospitals and Southern Cross Health Insurance
  • Director Sovereign Insurance
  • CEO Colonial NZ
  • Acting CEO ACC.

Anita Mazzoleni

Chair of ACC Board Risk Assurance and Audit Committee (RAAC)

Nō Tāmaki-Makaurau ia. Ko Venetian Navy te waka, ko Adriatic rāua ko Waitematā ngā moana, ko Waikato te awa, ko Rangitoto te maunga. Ko Ngāti Pākeha te iwi.

Anita was appointed a Member of the ACC Board in July 2014. Anita Mazzoleni is an independent corporate finance adviser and company director based in the Waikato.

She has a BCom and LLB and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of NZ and Australia and a Solicitor (NZ).

Anita has previously been a director of:

  • Ngati Whatua o Kaipara & Ngati Whatua o Orakei
  • Civil Aviation Authority & Aviation Security Service
  • Deloitte Corporate Finance
  • Industrial Research Ltd

She is also a Commissioner of the NZ Commerce Commission.

Anita has chaired the Audit, Risk and Finance Committees for each of her governance roles.

She has previously held management roles as General Counsel, Contact Energy and Corporate Finance Manager, Citibank.

Kristy McDonald ONZM QC

Chair of the ACC Board Governance and Remuneration Committee (GRC)

Kristy was appointed to the Board in September 2012. Kirsty is a QC and Wellington-based barrister and litigation lawyer with extensive experience in criminal, health, public and constitutional, and administrative law.

She has provided advice and representation for private clients and the Crown in a wide range of civil, criminal administrative matters over 35 years in practice. Kristy began her career as a prosecutor in Christchurch, was appointed a Crown Counsel at the Crown Law Office and commenced practice at the independent bar in 1989. She was made a Queens Counsel in 1999.

She is currently Chair of Kiwifruit New Zealand – a primary industry regulator, and is Deputy Chair of the Wairarapa Building Society.

Kristy is a:

  • Crown Counsel at the Crown Law Office
  • Queen's Counsel
  • LEADR qualified mediator.

She has provided advice and representation for private clients, the Crown and a number of State agencies in a wide range of matters. She's has undertaken and assisted with a number of independent Ministerial and other inquiries and has chaired and advised a number of statutory bodies and tribunals including:

  • Real Estate Agents Authority
  • Judicial Control Authority for Racing.
Last published: 5 December 2019